Strat-o-Matic Challenge

Yesterday, I challenged one of my buddies to a best-of-seven Strat-o-Matic series where we picked our own personal all-star teams.  We alternated picks, with him starting first, until we both had twelve players.  Unfortunately, we were doing this completely by memory, so we didn’t know the current statistics, but here goes nothing.  His roster was, ordered by selection:

  1. LeBron James
  2. Kevin Durant
  3. Kobe Bryant
  4. Dwight Howard
  5. Blake Griffin
  6. Josh Smith
  7. Russell Westbrook
  8. Carmelo Anthony
  9. Joe Johnson
  10. Rajon Rondo
  11. Andrew Bynum
  12. Chris Bosh

On the other hand, here is mine:

  1. Chris Paul
  2. Tyson Chandler
  3. Dwyane Wade
  4. Ryan Anderson
  5. Kevin Love
  6. James Harden
  7. Steve Nash
  8. Manu Ginobli
  9. Joakim Noah
  10. Kenneth Faried
  11. Kawhi Leonard
  12. Nikola Pekovic

In the end, we did exchange Kevin Love and Andrew Bynum.  Regardless, you can see that I am much more Wins Produced-oriented than he is; the players that he picked who are good according to Wins Produced are also good according to ESPN.

That doesn’t mean either one of our rosters is perfect.  I’m still kicking myself because I didn’t picked Andre Iguodala, and my only “true” small forward is Kawhi Leonard.  His small forwards are LeBron, KD, and Carmelo, who are all above-average scorers.  (Wins Produced doesn’t like Melo because he turns the ball over a lot, but still.)  At least Kawhi has a good reputation as a perimeter defender, although I don’t know what the numbers say.

Well, now I can’t wait for the new Strat-o-Matic set to come out.  At least among my circle of friends, I hope that this will settle the analytics vs. conventional debate.  In the meantime, I will transfer my Strat-o experience from the Advanced level to the Super-Advanced and Expert levels and practice keeping track of minutes played, the latter of which is really hard.

Of course, my opponent was been getting on my case about me rigging the series since a different one of my buddies will be playing his team.  However, I think I will give him home-court advantage in the 2-3-2 and do careful record-keeping-that’s why tracking minutes played will be so important.  Maybe he’s just teasing me-he’s been known to do that-but this is important.  I will be posting results here.  Thanks for reading, and please comment.

Leave a Reply

