I Can’t Believe That Bill Simmons Has Watched More Handball Than I Have. Darn NBC!

In my last article, I mentioned that team handball was one of the obscure sports that I wanted to see during this year’s Olympic games, and I mentioned that I had scheduled my day so that I could see a preliminary round match.  I was on the right channel and everything, but NBC never switched to it.  Instead, they showed a Poland-Latvia beach volleyball match that had already ended, whereas the handball match was live and between two really good teams– who, I can’t remember.  That really frustrated me, and so far the only handball I’ve seen was a Youtube video showing the last five minutes of the men’s gold medal game from Beijing.  The only other handball in the past two days that I have noticed on NBC’s schedule was at 5:30 in the morning yesterday (before I was awake), and this afternoon between Denmark and South Korea (both top-ten women’s teams) that I missed because I was watching our women’s volleyball team and I wasn’t paying enough attention to the TV listings.  Darn.

After that, I went on http://espn.go.com, and I got a real surprise when I saw that Bill Simmons had written an article on handball at his website, www.grantland.com.  It’s pretty good, it’s definitely classic Simmons, and the fact that he wrote about handball shocked me out of my mind.  I really wish that NBC would show more of this sport, which is really exciting, as Simmons pointed out.  However, I guess I’ll have to figure out how to get it to stream live to my computer; otherwise, I may never get my handball fix.

Thank you for reading, and please comment.

Leave a Reply

